Florida State / College of Law / Current Students / Student Organizations / Moot Court

scales of justice image

Moot Court

Established in 1968, the Florida State College of Law Moot Court Team is one of the nation's leading university moot court teams. The Moot Court Team annually contends in regional, national and international competitions. In the first six weeks of 2010 alone, the Moot Court Team won championships at the National Security Law Moot Court Competition and the Religious Freedom Moot Court Competition, and won the best brief award at the Charleston Constitutional Law Competition. This continues a legacy of excellence demonstrated by the Moot Court Team.

Team membership provides an invaluable opportunity to improve legal writing and oral advocacy in a competitive but congenial environment. Teams of two to three members compete against other law school moot court teams in competitions. Every competition gives team members the invaluable experience of writing at least one appellate brief and giving oral arguments to a distinguished panel of judges.

Academic credit is also available for competitions. Each competition earns the team member two credits during the semester of the competition. Coaches for the team are drawn from the Florida State Law faculty, alumni and surrounding legal community. Issues in past competitions have included the First Amendment, Criminal Law, Intellectual Property, Sports Law, International Law, Environmental Law, Evidence, Workers' Compensation, Cyber Law, Corporate Law, Securities, Labor and Employment, Entertainment and Communications Law.

The team is comprised of 30 members. Each spring, 16 new team members are selected, which includes 14 from the first-year class and two from the second-year class. Team members are expected to attend at least two competitions over the course of their membership. New 2L team members compete in the Orseck Workers Compensation Competition during the summer between their second and third years of law school, and then compete in an additional tournament during their third year.

Students are chosen during the three-day annual Judges John S. Rawls and James R. Wolf Intramural Moot Court Competition. All 1L and 2L law students are eligible to try out. Selection is based on a combination of the written brief score and the oral argument score from three rounds. For 1Ls, the written brief submitted is the same brief required for Legal Research and Writing II. For 2Ls there is a short one-issue brief which is released early in the spring semester. The oral arguments for the first two rounds are the same as those given for Legal Writing and Research II, while the third and final round is argued off-brief. Information regarding the Spring Intramural Competition is distributed throughout the first and second semester.