Florida State University College of Law


More Information

Story: Law school takes top honors at the 2001 Florida Bar Meeting

Law school takes top honors at the 2001 Florida Bar Meeting

FSU College of Law's Moot Court team made a clean sweep at the Robert Orseck Competition held in conjunction with the Florida Bar's Annual Meeting. The event included teams from all of Florida's accredited law schools.

The FSU team of Dan Dalesandro and Richard Martin defeated a team from the Stetson University College of Law for the overall championship. Martin was named Best Oralist in the final round while the team's brief took the top prize. Tallahassee attorney Tom Cooper, a 1985 FSU law graduate, coached the winning team.

A second FSU team of Erika Engelson and Jonathan Sacks made it to the semi-final round of the competition.

The law school was also well represented in the honors handed out to faculty and practicing attorneys at the Bar Meeting.

Professor Rob Atkinson was the unanimous choice for the 2001 Faculty Award of Professionalism.

Kelly O'Keefe, a 1994 graduate, received the Young Lawyers' Division's Most Productive Young Lawyer award. O'Keefe was honored for her work in initiating the Tallahassee Women's Lawyers FSU Law Student Scholarship Project and for establishing a series of bi-monthly mentoring lunches at which young attorneys and judges.

Deborah Kearney, a 1981 graduate, was named the Claude Pepper Outstanding Government Lawyer. Kearney is general counsel to Florida Secretary of State Katherine Harris and played a prominent role in the legal controversy following the 2000 presidential election.


News & Events > News Stories > 2001 Florida Bar Meeting
Back to the Top of the Page
Copyright 2005
Florida State University College of Law
FSU College of Law
Advanced Search Contact Information